Australian Representative Office


Federal Elections

The next federal election will be held on 21 May 2022. If you are still in Australia, you can pre-poll vote from 9 May 2022.

The AEC recommends overseas voters cast a postal vote in this election. If you plan to be overseas at the time of the election, make sure you check your enrolment and request a postal vote as soon as possible on the AEC website.

Australians in the Palestinian Territories are encouraged to vote via postal vote, which can either be posted to the AEC directly, or mailed or dropped off to the Australian Representative Office in Ramallah. To send in your postal vote, please send to: Trust Building, 7th floor, PO Box 4235, Othman Ben Affan Street, El Bireh. To drop off your postal vote, please drop it off between Monday to Thursday (8:30am to 4:00pm) and Friday (8:30am to 12:30pm).

Postal votes must be returned as quickly as possible to ensure they are received by the AEC in time to be counted.


Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Consular assistance

The Australian Representative Office is unable to offer direct consular assistance. If you are in the West Bank or Gaza you will need to contact the Australian Embassy in Tel Aviv for consular assistance.

For consular assistance from 08:00 am to 12:30 pm and 13:00 pm to 16:30 pm call +972 3 6935000.

For assistance after working hours, please call +61 2 6261 3305.

Smartraveller travel advice for Israel and the Palestinian Territories

Smartraveller information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Australian Representative Office operations

The health and safety of Australians overseas is our highest priority. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, our ability to provide some services (including notarial services) may be limited. You will need to make an appointment for any direct services which can be done by email ([email protected]); or if the matter needs urgent attention please call +972 3 6935000.

To receive up-to-date information from the Australian Representative Office, please ‘like’ and follow our Facebook page.

Travel restrictions to Australia

From 9pm AEDT 20 March 2020, only Australian citizens, residents and immediate family members can travel to Australia. From 28 March, all international travellers arriving in Australia must complete 14 days of self-isolation in designated facilities in their city of arrival, before they can go home.

More information: Department of Home Affairs.